A/B split test our home page? - Ecommerce Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A/B split test our home page?

A/B split test our home page?

How do I set this up? I want to change a few things on our home page and test out how well they work.

The easiest way is to make a new article or category page that looks how you want your homepage to look then run the test from the content>experiments section in Analytics using your existing hompage as the A version and your new page as the B version.

I haven't done this since they moved website optimiser in to Analytics, there were a few quirks with GWO and Volusion, so you might have to tinker a little.

Let me know how you get on.

This would imply that you can split test the inside page content, but not the Top bar and left nav?

That's right, this was possible with the old GWO multivariate tests and an awful lot of jquery but with the new content experiments I don't know of a way it can be done.

(noting that I am not a programer)....
    In the product pages, we have control over the meta tags. Is it possible to use this control to insert commands that prevent a whole bunch of stuff from loading on the page? This would then provide complete control of a page to use as the "b" in the split test?

You could create a category/ product page and throw in some CSS/js to manipulate the appearance of the top and left nav, however it won't carry through to other pages on the site so the user experience might be a bit odd.

If you go down this route, I suggest using a reduction in bounce rate as your goal as your changes will only really effect the landing page.

Look into Optimizely.

I use Visual Website Optimizer, it works for me, and it's a pretty good interface. I've heard Optimizely works well too and is perhaps simpler though not as powerful.

Quote Originally Posted by Alvinl View Post